“Only the beginning…”

So you’ve stumbled across my blog.

Good.

Welcome!

I’m Calli. I’m married to a wonderful man and I’m a young mom with two beautiful children.

This is me… and my babies. 🙂

Like many other moms out there, being a mom is something I’ve had to take one day at a time. Some days are glorious – full of smiles, cuddles, laughter, and love. Then there are days where I want to put myself in a day long time-out because I’ve had it up to HERE with the noise and tears and I might go crazy if one more toy travels outside of the playroom and into my freshly cleaned living room.

So this blog is about my journey through motherhood. Looking back on 2013 made me take a close look at my parenting techniques and I decided I didn’t really like what I saw. I’m a stay at home mom (SAHM) and it’s something I struggle with daily. I don’t like being at home 24/7. I could come up with a whole list of things I’d rather do than be at home: go explore a new hiking trail, go downtown and sit in my favorite coffee house with a good book, take a day trip to the beach, spend time with friends, go somewhere different and see what kind of cool things there are to do… the list goes on.

Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my children and I am grateful that I am able to stay at home with them; God only knows how much I would worry if someone else were caring for them full time! But I HATE being cooped up in the house. Sure, I could take the kids out to do things and be out of the house all day, but I would have to plan it all around their schedule. My kids don’t have a strict schedule, but they definitely have one. It’s pretty high up there on the list of important kid-related things, for me. In fact, I pride myself on the fact that they have such a good schedule.

If I want to leave the house for a few hours I have to make sure the activity won’t interfere with nap time or that we will be close by to a place with lunch and then I have to load up my car with everything I need for myself and two tiny people. So much work for such a short time frame.

Anyway, being a SAHM has it’s perks (I get paid in the sweetest hugs and kisses) but it’s still challenging. Not only do I have to take care of both kiddos, I run an entire household. It’s a lot of pressure and sometimes it really gets to me and stresses me out. When I get stressed, I tend to let trivial things frustrate me and am quick to respond in a sharp manner. This is something I am not proud of – especially when it involves my kids.

I have never gone off the deep end or anything like that, but I’ve definitely had my moments of screaming and being so stressed that the only thing that seems to help is sitting down and crying. Those moments happen more than I care to admit. When I looked back on the past year and saw that, I decided I didn’t like it. As my dad would say, “If you can’t change your situation, change yourself.” This is one of those times where I can’t really change my situation, but I CAN change the way I see things, how I respond, and how I handle issues that may come up. In other words: I need to be PROACTIVE and not REACTIVE. (See Dad?! I DID listen when I was a teenager! I just thought I was brilliant and didn’t need to heed your advice. I’m paying for it now… Haha.)

You may be wondering where on earth I came up with the name for this blog. Well, it kind of has two meanings behind it:
1. When you’re a mom, SAHM or working mom, dishes are a common theme. It seems like there are always dishes to be done, therefore “I’ve been washing dishes” is a common answer to the question “What are you doing?”
2. I kind of got it through the song “Washing Dishes” by Jack Johnson. I feel like the lyrics are a pretty good fit for what I’m wanting to do with my life and with this blog:
“In the morning when the world came awake
Before you knew me I knew your name
It was painted across the day as it breaks
An impression in your window frame

When you saw me out your window
Singing from the garden
Only the beginning
I’m only getting started
I don’t mind the digging
Baby, I’ll work harder
I’ve been washing dishes
Singing from the bottom

But one day I’ll be running this place
And one day I could take you away
But I want you to wonder what’s my name
Because I need you to want me the same

When you saw me washing dishes
Singing from the bottom
Only the beginning
I’m only getting started
I don’t mind the digging
Baby, I’ll work harder
I’ve been in the ashes
Singing from the garden

Where everything reaches for the sun
Still unsure of what we’ll become
But I need you to reach out to me
See in me more than I could see
Because I’m afraid that

One day is only two words we say
I don’t want to let them get in the way
Of all the plans that we should be making right now
Right now

Who took the time and where did they take it
I want to take it back
I don’t want them to break it
All these plans that we should be making right now
Right now”

That song says it all. I want to change the way I do things, as a parent, so I can make life better for my family as a whole. I don’t want to keep saying “one day.” That “one day” starts right now.

So join me – It’s going to be a great ride!

One thought on ““Only the beginning…”

Leave a Reply

